At-15 cycle issue

Talk about the AR15 style rifles chambered in 450 Bushmaster.

Moderator: MudBug

At-15 cycle issue

Postby Nordic95 » Thu Aug 05, 2021 6:52 pm

Hey guys newbie here to the forum. I just recently built a 450 bm and I’m having issues with it cycling properly. It’s a Davidson’s Defense upper with a SAA BCG. I use PSA lower for this build with PSA lower build kit. I started out with an H1 buffer at 3.4oz and it would eject brass but not strip amd load next round. So I installed an H3 at 5.4 oz and same issue. I don’t have an adjustable gas block and I’m using two different magazines but from same company. They are steel 450 BM magazines. I’m using Double Tap amd Hornady ammo for testing and break in. So far I have about 30 rounds thru it. The Douple Tap ammo actually did lock back the action a couple times as I was only loading one round at a time. I just wanted to see action was working but only 2-3 times it actually locked open. Today I tried some reloads and the same issue persists. What should I be checking next?
Nordic95

Re: At-15 cycle issue

Postby Al in Mi » Fri Aug 06, 2021 3:50 am

welcome.

I'd oil the snot out if it and run it wet, then check gas block alignment. and if you happen to pull the block off, try and measure the port size.

I don't ever recall reading or hearing of a "standard" port size for carbine or middy length gas systems.
Al in Mi

Postby plant_one » Tue Aug 10, 2021 1:53 pm

i doubt its a lower issue - but if you've got another, or can access one thru a friend - its always worth a swap to see if the issue goes away.

it might help recording the shots to see if your BCG is cycling fully, but it sounds like it is at least some of the time.

without knowing what company's mags you're using, we wont be able to know if they're on the good or bad list. that info will be useful.